Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
 
 
 
September 21, 2017
Upcoming Events
No Events Found
Two and Three Person Firetrucks are Unsafe!
Updated On: Sep 03, 2016
Firefighters can not enter a burning building until there are four (4) firefighters on scene per OSHA standards unless there is a known life hazard.

This Saturday, Local 3044 members will hand out an informational brochure about staffing levels.  These brochures discuss certain industry standards and the recent studies performed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).  All the information states the minimum number of firefighters is four(4). Burlington Fire operates with THREE (3) or TWO (2) firefighters on an engine or ladder company. This puts the safety of the citizens and the firefighters at risk. Tell your city councilors you want safe staffing levels.  Engine Company 3 (The Hill Section) protects the hospital, UVM, parts of Champlain College, and some of the largest older homes with TWO (2) firefighters.  Engine Company 5 (The South End) protects the busiest street in the state (Shelburne Rd.), many industrial buildings, many commercial buildings, some of the largest newer high value homes with only TWO (2) firefighters. Tower 1 which is the city wide ladder company only operates with TWO (2) firefighters.  Contact your city councilors and tell them you need safer staffing levels!

City Council

Ward 1

Sharon Foley Bushor
sbushor@burlingtonvt.gov
Independent, 2018
52 East Avenue
?Burlington, VT 05401
658-3604

Ward 2

Max Tracy
mtracy@burlingtonvt.gov
Progressive, 2018
39 Greene Street, Apt 2
Burlington, VT 05401
373-1968

Ward 3

Sara Giannoni
sgiannoni@burlingtonvt.gov
Progressive, 2018
63 Rose Street, Apt 1
Burlington, VT 05401
540-1711

Ward 4

Kurt Wright
kwright@burlingtonvt.gov
Republican, 2018
31 Vine Street
Burlington, VT 05408
658-1410

Ward 5

William "Chip" Mason
cmason@burlingtonvt.gov
Democrat, 2018
33 Scarff Avenue
Burlington, VT 05401
373-8545

Ward 6

Karen Paul
kpaul@burlingtonvt.gov
Democrat, 2018
171 Crescent Road 
Burlington, VT 05401
863-3817

Ward 7

Tom Ayres
tayres@burlingtonvt.gov
Democrat, 2018
61 Saratoga Avenue
Burlington, VT 05408
324-4117

Ward 8

Adam Roof
aroof@burlingtonvt.gov
Independent, 2018
247 Pearl Street, Unit 210 
Burlington, VT 05401
777-3255

East District

Selene Colburn
scolburn@burlingtonvt.gov
Progressive, 2017
49 Latham Court
Burlington, VT 05401
233-1358
 

Central District

City Council President
Jane Knodell
jknodell@burlingtonvt.gov
Progressive, 2017
10 Charles Street
Burlington, VT 05401
862-2469

North District

David Hartnett
dhartnett@burlingtonvt.gov
Independent, 2017
27 Browe Court
Burlington, VT 05408
864-7895  

South District

Joan Shannon
jshannon@burlingtonvt.gov
Democrat, 2017
41 Central Avenue 
Burlington, VT 05401
860-7489


Download:


Member Login
Username:

Password:


Not registered yet?
Click Here to sign-up

Forgot Your Login?
<< September 2017 >>
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Important Links
PFFV
So. Burlington L3671
Burlington Fire Dept.
City of Burlington, VT
Division of Fire Safety
USAR VTTF1
Google
Weather Report
 
 
BFFA 3044
Copyright © 2017, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

124140 hits since Dec 10, 2007
Visit Unions-America.com!

Top of Page image